Atlanta Music Roundtable 2011

I'll be taking part in this larger discussion about the year in music next month. 10 local music writers including myself will be discussing local and national music released over the course of 2011. See below for more details and check back soon as I'll be hosting some posts as part of this roundtable discussion.




 On Monday, December 19, ten Atlanta-based music writers as the Atlanta Music Roundtable will begin a weeklong conversation summing up a year in local and national music. This weeklong discussion includes a midweek show at The EARL with four Atlanta-based bands on Wednesday, December 21.

This year end event involves music writers from Atlanta’s A-List, BeAtlanta, Hijacking Music, I’m a Bear Etc, Latest Disgrace, Little Advances, Ohm Park, Paste, Promising Chord, and Wholly Roller. We will discuss ten topics spanning from your typical “best of” categories about albums and shows, to most underrated acts in Atlanta, and even a free-for-all category discussing our local and national obsessions. Starting on Monday, December 19 we will post two categories per day until Friday, December 23.

Little Tybee, Today the Moon, Tomorrow the Sun, New Animal, and Spirits and The Melchizedek Children will be at The EARL on Wednesday, December 21 for a special Atlanta Music Roundtable show. Each of these bands released full-length albums in 2011 that left lasting impressions on the Atlanta music community.

The Atlanta Music Roundtable’s concept is in its second year of existence and started when we wanted a new, exciting way to deliver a “best of” list without taking the traditional route. We wanted to present it as a conversation from site to site that would hopefully ignite an even bigger conversation throughout the music community.

For more information please contact Denton Poteet at littleadvancesatl@gmail.com or Emily Hogan at emily_hogan@me.com.

Links – Writers:
Atlanta’s A-List – http://atlalist.com
BeAtlanta – http://beatlanta.com
Hijacking Music – http://hijackingmusic.com
I’m A Bear Etc – http://imabearetc.com
Latest Disgrace – http://latestdisgrace.com
Little Advances – http://littleadvances.com
Max Blau – http://maxblau.blogspot.com and Paste Magazine – http://pastemagazine.com
Ohm Park – http://ohmpark.com
Promising Chord – http://promisingchord.com
Wholly Roller – http://whollyroller.com

Links – Bands:
Little Tybee – http://littletybee.bandcamp.com
New Animal – http://newanimal.bandcamp.com
Spirits and the Melchizedek Children – http://satmc.bandcamp.com
Today The Moon Tomorrow The Sun – http://todaythemoon.com
Real Time Web Analytics